Come Lord Jesus

Last night I watched Gangs of New York. And while I found it a well-crafted and engaging movie, it was filled with corruption, greed, dispassion, and violence. The closing scenes brought me nothing but grief as they showcased the violence that stains our history and pervades our world, the way that self-interest can leave so many victims in its wake.

It had me praying once more, come Lord Jesus. I do not want to live my life with a blind eye to the world’s pain, I cannot believe that this world is “alright”, that we have things “sorted” or “under control”. Evil is something which I have been largely fortunate not to be beaton down by. Nevertheless I thank the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ for this, and long for his coming.

Leave a Reply

